More hills and stairs

Today our training consisted of 9.6kms of 4 hill repeats and then 4 stair repeats.  And then a delicious swim in the bay.  We are very fortunate to live in one of the most beautiful areas in the world.

Each time up the hill trying to run further and further before stopping to hike.  My quads and knees were certainly getting a workout.  It was super humid so sweating a LOT!  I used more water than I usually would on such a run.  I was glad of my running pack.

My running pack is new a Salomon 15L (has a 1.5L capacity water bladder) is so great I love how it hugs my body and doesn’t ‘flap’ around when I run.  There are many pockets for extra bottles, phone (to capture runs on Strava), mandatory gear and food.

There is quite an extensive mandatory gear list for UTA100.

Thermals – long top & bottom made from polypropylene or wool (no cotton)

breathable rain jacket

beanie or buff

full fingered lightweight gloves polypropylene or wool

high vis vest

headlamp

small backup light source

mobile phone in working order and fully charged

compass

whistle

emergency space blanket

compression bandage

lightweight dry sack

water bottles or bladder up to 2L

food portions/bars

ziploc bag for rubbish

waterproof map case

long leg waterproof pants

100 weight long sleeved fleece top

course map, emergency card, full box of waterproof matches, firelighter block, race number and timing tag (all provided by organisers)

this mandatory gear list has to be checked and signed off prior to race day.  If the weather looks like it’s going to be fine then the organisers relax the need for waterproof jacket and pants.

One thing that is a recommended item is wag bags.  As we will be running predominantly through National Park these are kind of important.  When we hiked the PCT (Pacific Crest Trail) last year there was a lot of inappropriately disposed of ‘stuff’.  And our training area has multiple opportunities to use public facilities but in the mountains wag bags will be our go to for #2.

This morning when the alarm went off I thought “Oh no!” but once we are out there I just love it! especially the swim at the end.  This reaction still surprises me as all my life I have resisted running and declared my inability to run.  I have never felt more alive.

Leave a comment